The Fangoria Chainsaw Awards Return to Shudder

April 24, 2022 1:00 AM ‐ Paranormal

This article is more than one year old and was last updated in February 2024.

Fangoria Chainsaw Awards 2022
The FANGORIA Chainsaw Awards are set to return for 2022 with an awards special host by 'The Suicide Squad' star, David Dastmalchian that will premiere exclusively on Shudder on Sunday, May 15 at 7pm Eastern Time (midnight in the UK).

The ceremony, which recognises outstanding achievements in horror film and television, will feature Dee Wallace, Joe Lo Truglio, Joe Dante, Tracie Thoms, Jim Cummings, Rachel True and the directing team known as Radio Silence ('Ready Or Not', 'Scream') among its presenters.

Since 1992, the Chainsaw Awards have honoured top achievements in the horror genre, with past recipients including Wes Craven, George A. Romero, Lupita Nyong'o, Anthony Hopkins and Elisabeth Moss.

This year's nominees include 'Candyman', 'Last Night In Soho', 'Titane', 'Chucky', and 'Midnight Mass'. The special is produced by Armen Aghaeian, produced and directed by Ama Lea, and written by Michael Varrati. Executive Producers are Tara Ansley, Abhi Goel, and Phil Nobile Jr.

Since 1979, FANGORIA has been "first in fright." At one point the only place on newsstands where fans could read about the world of horror, today Fango has adapted to a world it helped create - one in which Fango's early readers are winning Oscars for their contributions to, and expansion of, the genre.

"Last year's Chainsaw Awards were not only a highlight of the year in horror, but a testimony to the very spirit of the genre, as ingenuity and resourcefulness won out over the challenges of production during lockdown," said Fango editor Phil Nobile Jr. "We've upped the ante this year and added some new categories, and we're excited for fans to tune in to once again celebrate an amazing year for horror and its fans."

Craig Engler, Shudder's general manager said, "Shudder is proud to once again join forces with FANGORIA to celebrate the best in horror, as voted on by the horror community itself."

This year's ceremony will premiere on Shudder TV, the in-app programming feed of Shudder. There will also be additional pre and post shows streaming via Fango's social media accounts. The awards will be made available on demand on Shudder across all platforms, partners and territories beginning May 16.

Shudder is a premium streaming video service that brings fans of horror, thrillers and the supernatural the best selection of entertainment in the genre. Shudder's ever-expanding library of film, television series, and originals is available on most streaming devices with a seven day free trial.

Full List Of Presenters

The Boulet Brothers
Alejandro Brugues, director
Peaches Christ, performer/filmmaker
Jim Cummings, filmmaker
Joe Dante, director
Tananarive Due, author/screenwriter
Bryan Fuller, producer
Michael Gingold, writer
Brea Grant, filmmaker
Harvey Guillén, actor
Elric Kane, 'Colors Of The Dark' podcast
Joe Lo Truglio, actor/filmmaker
Harry Manfredini, composer
Rebekah McKendry, 'Colors Of The Dark' podcast
Misha Osherovich, actor
Jeff Daniel Phillips, actor
Diana Prince aka Darcy the Mail Girl
Radio Silence, filmmakers
Daniel Roebuck, actor
Felissa Rose, actor
Josh Ruben, filmmaker
Tiffany Shepis, actor
Tracie Thoms, actor
Rachel True, actor
Michael Varrati, writer
Dee Wallace, actor

More From Shudder View All


Daily Horoscopes


It's not a good day to go out searching for a new mutual fund manager on the spur of the moment, but you may do something like that. You feel your finances or personal values are under attack. Don't be... Read More